v6 feature
12d Synergy Drawing Plugins are installed during the 12d Synergy Client application installation. See Installing the 12d Synergy Client for more information. However, before installing the plugin for MicroStation or OpenRoads, you must have accessed the application at least once on the system where you are installing the plugin. This ensures that the personal UCF file, which is needed for the installation of the plugin, is on the system.
You can add the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin by doing the following:
Select the Drawing option from the list on the title bar (as shown below) to view it on your workflow ribbon..png)
Select the 12d Synergy option from the list on the title bar to add the drawing plugin as a separate menu option.
![]()
You can choose to pin the plugin to all your workflows by right-clicking the toolbar and selecting the Pin to all workflows option.
Name | Key-in Dialog Command | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Opens plans stored in 12d Synergy directly from MicroStation or OpenRoads | |
| Saves the plan with a name of your choice to a 12d Synergy location | |
| Configures the CAD settings based on your selection. | |
| Uploads/Imports the plan into the 12d Synergy Server but keeps the file open and checked out for editing on your local system | |
| Checks out the file from the 12d Synergy Server. Used when the file is opened in View only (read-only) mode | |
| Checks in the currently active drawing but keeps the file open in View only (read-only) mode | |
| Cancels the checkout of the plan you are working on, but retains the drawing open in View only (read-only) mode | |
| Attaches external references from a 12d Synergy location. These could include other .dgn files, images, or PDFs. The files attached through the 12d Synergy plugin have synergised pathing. | |
| Manages the 12d Synergy references. |
1.1. Open
You can open a file directly from the MicroStation or OpenRoads application without needing to access the file via the 12d Synergy Client application. However, if the file is from a managed folder, you cannot open it using the Open icon button on the 12d Synergy Drawing toolbar or ribbon. You have to open it from a checked-out managed folder in the 12d Synergy Client application.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Open
button.Navigate to the required job and folder in 12d Synergy and select the file you want to open.
1.2. Save As
You can save a file directly into 12d Synergy from a local drive.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Save As
button.Navigate to the required job and folder and select the location where you want to save the file in 12d Synergy.
1.3. Settings
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Settings
button.
The Configure Settings window is displayed.
Select the checkboxes displayed against the required settings.
It is a good practice to select the following checkboxes:
Prompt to check out files
Prompt to check in files after close
Click the Save button to apply any settings updates.
1.4. Check out
You can check out and lock a read-only file to yourself for updating on your system directly from the MicroStation or OpenRoads application. But if the file is from a managed folder, you cannot check it out using the Check Out icon button from the 12d Synergy Drawing toolbar or ribbon. You have to check it out from the 12d Synergy Client application.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Check Out
button.
12d Synergy will check if the file is available for checkout and reopen the file to you for editing.
1.5. Upload
You can use the Upload
button in the following two instances:
Upload a working copy back to the 12d Synergy Server and keep the file open for editing on your local machine
Upload a file that is open outside of 12d Synergy to the 12d Synergy Server
1.5.1. Upload an existing file into 12d Synergy
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Upload
button.
The following prompt is displayed to describe the reason for uploading the file.

The options displayed in the Describe your Change dialog box can be configured by your 12d Synergy Administrator in the 12d Synergy Administration application > System Rules tab > Change Descriptions tab.
Select the reason that aptly describes your intent to upload the file.
The version of the file is uploaded to the server as a working update, retaining the file checked out and open on your local system.
1.5.2. Upload a file that is outside of 12d Synergy
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Upload
button.
The following prompt is displayed.

Click the Yes button to add the file to 12d Synergy.
The Save As prompt is displayed. You can rename the file here if required.

Click the Save button.
Navigate to and select the job and folder in 12d Synergy where you want to save the file.
The Add Drawings window is displayed.Click Ok to upload the file.
After the file is uploaded, the following prompt to check out the file is displayed.

Do one of the following:
Click Yes to check out the file.
Click No to open the file in read-only mode.
1.6 Check in
You can check in a file that is checked out to your system directly from the MicroStation or OpenRoads application.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Check In
button.
12d Synergy will check it in.
1.7. Cancel Check Out
Cancel Check Out is used to cancel an accidental or unnecessary check out and make the file available for others on the 12d Synergy server.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Cancel Check Out
button.
The file is returned to read-only status, with any updates being discarded. The read-only file continues to be open on your system in your MicroStation or OpenRoads application.
1.8. Attach Reference
You will no longer use the default MicroStation or OpenRoads referencing tools found on the Attach tab of the drawing workflow. Instead, you will manage the references via the Attach Reference
button in the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin. This process opens 12d Synergy for you to locate your entity, but it also brings references in with 12d Synergy pathing, which is trackable. So if you move or rename an entity, the pathing will also update, keeping your .dgn files intact.
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Attach Reference
button.Navigate to the required job and folder in 12d Synergy and select the file you want to attach.
The Reference Attachment Properties for <selected reference file> window is displayed.
Make the necessary changes or updates and click the OK button.
The selected file is attached based on your placement options and other settings.
1.13. Reference Manager
From the 12d Synergy Drawing plugin, click the Reference Manager
button.
All the attached references are displayed in the 12d Synergy References window.
Select any referenced file.
The details of the selected file are displayed in the section below.
You can do any of the following from this window:
Open the reference file
Check in / Check out the reference file
Cancel the checked-out reference file
Detach the reference
Start / Finish an Edit


.png)
.png)




