--- title: "Types of Users" slug: "typesofusers" tags: ["collaborator pro user", "denied", "rights", "Company Contact Creator", "Job Creator", "Collaborator", "Job Administrator", "System Administrator", "12d Synergy Administrator", "access", "permissions"] updated: 2026-11-11T03:18:02Z published: 2026-11-11T03:18:02Z canonical: "help.12dsynergy.com/typesofusers" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.12dsynergy.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Types of Users A 12d Synergy user is a user who has a user account to log in to 12d Synergy. One user consumes one user license. To read more about Licenses, please read [Licensing](/v1/docs/licensing). Even if you are using Active Directory for authentication, all users must have a user account in 12d Synergy to connect to it. All users must be associated with a 12d Synergy contact record. In other words, all users are contacts within the system, but not all contacts are users who can log in. Your 12d Synergy Administrator can create users who can be one of the following types: | **User Type** | **Description** | | --- | --- | | **Normal user** | A regular 12d Synergy user with standard permissions only. | | **12d Synergy Administrator / System Administrator** | Any user who has administrative access to the system and can perform any 12d Synergy actions. System Administrators can see that all the jobs, folders, and files exist, but they cannot access (view or update) the data inside them. They, too, are subject to [permissions](https://help.12dsynergy.com/docs/v5permissions). | | **Job Administrator** | A user with limited permissions to create jobs and assign users to these jobs. | | **Job Creator** | A user with limited permissions to create jobs at the top level and sub-job level from the **12d Synergy Client** application. | | **Company/Contact Creator** | A user with limited permissions to create and edit companies and contacts. | | [**Collaborator**](/v1/docs/collaborators) | A user with temporary read-only access to selected jobs or folders in the [12d Synergy Web and Mobile applications](https://help.12dsynergy.com/docs/12d-synergy-web-and-mobile-apps) given by the 12d Synergy Administrator. | | **Collaborator Pro** | A user with read-only access to selected jobs or folders, who also has permissions to create and update issues in those jobs from the **12d Synergy Web and Mobile** apps and the **12d Synergy Client** application. They can use the **12d Synergy Outlook Plugin** and manage their emails in the **12d Synergy Client** application. |